On “On Not Having Children”

I’m honestly surprised at how this piece took off. Since it was posted, it has been read over 4,200 times! (That’s if WordPress’ stats are to believed, and it’s entirely possible they are off.) I posted it over in childfree on Reddit, but I honestly expected maybe a hundred or so people to read it and then move on. The feedback I received from Reddit and from friends on Facebook has been overwhelmingly positive. There was only one troll comment in all of those views that I had to squish, and that makes me very happy.

I was a little bit concerned about how this would be received by the people who actually know me personally, but the response so far is nothing but positive, even among the friends of mine who have children. I’m not sure if that’s just because any naysayers are keeping quiet or if everybody is now able to understand how we (and people like us) feel. I was also heartened to find out that there were friends of mine who felt the exact same way we do who just hadn’t found the voice to express how they feel. I’m glad I could help with that.

Most of all, I would like to thank the overwhelming majority of those who read this piece for keeping it civil. As I mentioned above, there was only one troll who chose to attack me personally instead of critiquing anything I actually said. Whether you agree with what I wrote or not, the thousands of you who behaved like decent human beings regarding what is for a lot of people a sensitive topic adds to my faith in humanity. Have a great day and keep being awesome!

Leave a Reply

