A New Beginning…

beginning

I miss writing.

I have been putting off creating another blog because I felt that, as a professional web developer, I should really be building my own site. Not only does that seem to make sense, I almost feel like I have a duty as a programmer to forge my online presence from scratch, hammering out my own code into the wee hours of the morning. As it turns out, when you spend 8+ hours a day working to build websites for someone else, the last thing you want to do when you get home is more of the same. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy my work; I just can’t bring myself to undertake the long and arduous task of building a properly secure site in my free time. I’ve had a few blogs on Blogger over the years, but I wanted something a bit more robust for my new site. If it turns out that I can keep up with this, I want to be able to highly customize the site, as well as make it more or less permanent.

This led me to WordPress. WordPress is probably the most popular blog/site platform out there right now, and they offer some pretty comprehensive upgrade packages right through their site if it turns out that I want to register a domain and create a more permanent web space in the future. The combination of WordPress’ ubiquity and the ease of upgrade made the selection a no-brainer for me.

So what can you expect from me here? I intend to use this space as a host for mostly long-form writing, but it will also contain anything I find particularly interesting and/or amusing. This includes but is not limited to: original fiction by me, my thoughts on the various goings-on in the world, neat things I find around the internet, and probably some of my amateur photography. Basically, the rule of thumb is that if it’s too long or will generate too much discussion for a Facebook status, it’s going to end up here.

I’ll also try to keep it engaging. No one cares what I did at work or what I had for lunch. My aim for when I put something here is for it to have a purpose. I want to inform you, to make you smile, think, or laugh. I want there to be a dialogue here. I don’t want this to be a place where you come and have me throw words at you; I also want to know what you think! Trust me, the last thing I want to do is to bore you with the mundane. I’m certain that I’ll probably fail in this endeavor occasionally, but I will do my best to ensure that it happens more rarely than not.

If you decide to join me on this journey, I’m happy to have you along. I’m sure we’ll have a lot to talk about. Oh, and buckle up. It’s the law.

Leave a Reply

